The New York City Subway system is the oldest and is one of the most extensive in the world. It provides a direct and fast transportation to commuters in the New York area. It consists of three different subway lines, two rapid transit lines and one commuter rail line.

The New York Subway system was the brainchild of the original railroad and was originally called the Bronx Line. It then became the Manhattan line in 1911. The system started to be expanded and re-constructed in the 1920s as part of the American Recovery and Stimulus Act. This enabled the United States to recover from the Great Depression, which was caused by the Great Depression of the previous decade.


The New York City Subway is one of the busiest public transportation systems in the world. It is an underground, above ground and underground network that is designed to connect the Manhattan, Brooklyn, Queens, Bronx, Staten Island, and New Jersey. Each one of these lines is the only true underground subway system of the United States.


Most of the New York City Subway system passes through the five boroughs. Some of the other lines consist of a limited span over portions of the Bronx, Queens, Brooklyn, Manhattan, and Staten Island. The entire system has several different stations, and entrances, as well as different ways of accessing them.

Passengers can travel on the open circular trains, with tunnels running underneath the streets to the stations. They are connected by the open-air platforms of the subway stations and passes the entire length of the length of each station. The subway consists of both street car and open-air cars, and both are used for commuting purposes.


The only subway lines that do not travel under the streets of the five boroughs, are the Broadway subway line, which run between 30th Street and Times Square, and the International and Seventh Avenue subway lines, which run between 34th Street and Lenox Avenue in Manhattan. Both of these lines are underground and run along the East River and Grand Central Parkway. Those who are interested in traveling via subway lines, should stay in a subway station which is located at or near the same point in Manhattan.


The Broadway subway line is divided into seven sections, which provides a free of charge ride to passengers. These include Harlem, Manhattan, Bedford Park, East Tremont, Astoria, Manhattan, Prospect, and East New York. The Astoria subway line is located in Queens but is less used.

The Brooklyn subway line is known for the LIRR and is also known as the "Blue Line". It passes through Brooklyn, which is home to many of the largest commercial buildings in the world. The Astoria subway line is located in the suburbs of New York City and is considered the original system that is still in operation today.


The Metro line operates in the north part of the five boroughs, which connects Manhattan, Queens, and the Bronx. It is the fastest subway in the world. The New York City Transit Authority operates the entire system, which features five lines and the New York City subway is the oldest and the largest subway system in the world.


The commuter rail line, which are attached to the subway system and operate primarily on weekends, and the early and late morning hours. They operate on Saturday, Sunday, and holidays. Many trains make their way to each station during the work week, and all are considered tourist stops.

A commuter rail trip to work is much faster than a subway ride and allows a person to travel back and forth to their residence, just as they would their own automobile. The only time that a subway trip will cause you to stop for traffic and have to walk will be the trip from the station to the street. Street, so it is important to plan your trip so that it does not take more than an hour, or so.